Informal Advisory Groups – Extended

ML KRR SO Planning MAS NLP CV Robotics ELS


Informal Advisory Groups (IAGs) provide a conduit between CLAIRE and the communities within AI (in both directions), and their members should be motivated to participate, on behalf of their communities, in the further development of CLAIRE.

To fulfil their role, IAGs consist of excellent researchers who are well respected and connected within the respective communities (relative to their career stage) and who strongly support the vision of CLAIRE. IAGs are formed such that they capture geographic diversity within Europe and are thus constrained to contain no more than one member per country and to cover at least some of the major European regions (i.e., Northern Europe, Central Europe, Southern Europe, Eastern Europe).


Machine Learning (ML):


Kristian Kersting (also a supporter of ELLIS)

TU Darmstadt, Germany


Nuria Oliver (also a supporter of ELLIS)

EurAI, ACM and IEEE Fellow, Member of the Spanish Royal Academy of Engineering, Spokesperson and Member of the High Level Advisory Board on Artificial Intelligence to the Spanish Government

Vodafone Research, UK and Data-Pop Alliance, USA


Massimiliano Pontil (also a supporter of ELLIS)

Instituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy, and University College London, United Kingdom


Michèle Sebag (also a supporter of ELLIS)

EurAI Fellow, Member of the French Academy of Technologies, Former
President of AFIA

CNRS, LRI-Université Paris-Sud, Université Paris-Saclay, France


Josef Šivic (associated member, also a supporter of ELLIS)

INRIA, Ecole Normale Supérieure, France, and Intelligent Machine Perception, Czech Technical University, Czech Republic


Knowledge Representation and Reasoning (KRR):


Thomas Eiter

EurAI Fellow, Member of Academia Europea

kM Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna University of Technology , Austria


Giuseppe de Giacomo

AAAI Fellow, ACM Fellow, EurAI Fellow

Sapienza University of Rome, Italy


Gerhard Lakemeyer

EurAI Fellow

Aachen University, Germany


Jérôme Lang

EurAI Fellow

Université Paris-Dauphine and CNRS, France


João Marques-Silva

University of Lisbon, Portugal


Luc De Raedt

EurAI Fellow

KU Leuven, Belgium


Search and Optimisation (SO):


Enrique Alba

CAEPIA Fellow, Coordinator of the Spanish Academic Network on Smart Cities

Universidad de Málaga, Spain


Krzysztof Krawiec

IEEE and AAAI Fellow

Poznan University of Technology, Poland


Kaisa Miettinen

Member of EUROPT and the INFORMS Section on MCDM

University of Jyväskylä, Finland


Michela Milano

Member of Board of EurAI, Executive Councillor of AAAI

University of Bologna, Italy


Marc Schoenauer (also a supporter of ELLIS)

Member of the Villani mission on French AI strategy, Chair of ACM-SIGEVO, Former President of AFIA

INRIA Saclay and LRI-Université Paris-Sud, Université Paris-Saclay, France




Ronen Brafman

Ben-Gurion University, Israel


Hector Geffner

AAAI and EurAI Fellow

ICREA and Universitat Pompeu, Spain


Malte Helmert

University of Basel, Switzerland


Jörg Hoffmann

Saarland University, Germany


Paolo Traverso

EurAI Fellow

Director of the Center for Information Technology – IRST (FBK-ICT), Italy


Multi-Agent Systems (MAS):


Catholijn Jonker

EurAI Fellow

Delft University of Technology and Leiden University, The Netherlands


Ana Paiva

INESC-ID and University of Lisbon, Portugal


Michal Pěchouček

Head of Agent Technology Center, Chair of the board of directors for EURAMAS and Member of the board of directors of IFAAMAS

Chair of Computer Science Department, Czech Technical University, Czech Republic


Michael Wooldridge

ACM Fellow, AAAI Fellow, EurAI Fellow

Head of Department of Computer Science, University of Oxford, United Kingdom


Franco Zambonelli

IEEE Fellow, Member of the Academia Europaea

University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy


Natural Language Processing (NLP):


Jan Hajič

Charles University, Czech Republic


(further members to be announced shortly…)




Raja Chatila

IEEE Fellow, Former Director of LAAS-CNRS

Director of SMART and ISIR, Pierre and Marie Curie University, France


Wolfram Burgard

AAAI, EurAI and IEEE Fellow

Freiburg University, Germany


Danica Kragic (also a supporter of ELLIS)

Director of the Centre for Autonomous Systems, KTH, Sweden


Daniele Nardi

EurAI Fellow

Sapienza University of Rome, Italy


Computer Vision (CV):

(Members to be announced soon…)


Ethics, Legal, Social Issues (ELS):


Virginia Dignum

EurAI Fellow

Utrecht University, The Netherlands


Luciano Floridi

Turing Fellow

Director of the Digital Ethics Lab of the Oxford Internet Institute, Chair of the Data Ethics Group, University of Oxford and The Alan Turing Institute, United Kingdom


Emiliano Lorini

IRIT-CNRS, Toulouse University, France


Pablo Noriega

Artificial Intelligence Research Institute (IIIA-CSIC), Spain


Francesca Rossi

AAAI and ECCAI Fellow, Former President of IJCAI and the ACP

IBM and University of Padova, Italy


Leon van de Torre

EurAI Fellow

University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg


Peggy Valcke

Member of Digital Minds for Belgium

KU Leuven, Belgium


Bart Verheij

President of the International Association for AI & Law

Head of Department of Artificial Intelligence, University of Groningen, The Netherlands


Marija Slavkovik (associated member)

University of Bergen, Norway


The Categories: Uncategorized

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.