Informal Advisory Groups

ML  KRR  SO  Planning  MAS  NLP  Robotics  CV ELS Industry

Informal Advisory Groups (IAGs) provide a conduit between CLAIRE and the communities within AI (in both directions), and their members should be motivated to participate, on behalf of their communities, in the further development of CLAIRE.

To fulfil their role, IAGs consist of excellent researchers who are well respected and connected within the respective communities (relative to their career stage) and who strongly support the vision of CLAIRE. IAGs are formed such that they capture geographic diversity within Europe and are thus constrained to contain no more than one member per country and to cover at least some of the major European regions (i.e., Northern Europe, Central Europe, Southern Europe, Eastern Europe).


Machine Learning (ML):

Kristian Kersting, TU Darmstadt, Germany (also a supporter of ELLIS)

Nuria Oliver, Vodafone Research, UK and Data-Pop Alliance, USA (also a supporter of ELLIS)

Massimiliano Pontil, Instituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy, and University College London, United Kingdom (also a supporter of ELLIS)

Michèle Sebag, CNRS, LRI-Université Paris-Sud, Université Paris-Saclay, France (also a supporter of ELLIS)

Josef Šivic, INRIA, Ecole Normale Supérieure, France, and Intelligent Machine Perception, Czech Technical University, Czech Republic (associated member, also a supporter of ELLIS)


Knowledge Representation and Reasoning (KRR):

Thomas Eiter, kM Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna University of Technology , Austria

Giuseppe de Giacomo, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy

Gerhard Lakemeyer, Aachen University, Germany

Jérôme Lang, Université Paris-Dauphine and CNRS, France

João Marques-Silva, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Luc De Raedt, KU Leuven, Belgium


Search and Optimisation (SO):

Enrique Alba, Universidad de Málaga, Spain

Krzysztof Krawiec, Poznan University of Technology, Poland

Kaisa Miettinen, University of Jyväskylä, Finland

Michela Milano, University of Bologna, Italy

Marc Schoenauer, INRIA Saclay and LRI-Université Paris-Sud, Université Paris-Saclay, France (also a supporter of ELLIS)



Ronen Brafman, Ben-Gurion University, Israel

Hector Geffner, ICREA and Universitat Pompeu, Spain

Malte Helmert, University of Basel, Switzerland

Jörg Hoffmann, Saarland University, Germany

Paolo Traverso, Center for Information Technology – IRST (FBK-ICT), Italy


Multi-Agent Systems (MAS):

Catholijn Jonker, Delft University of Technology and Leiden University, The Netherlands

Ana Paiva, INESC-ID and University of Lisbon, Portugal

Michal Pěchouček, Czech Technical University, Czech Republic

Michael Wooldridge, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Franco Zambonelli, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy


Natural Language Processing (NLP):

Núria Bel, University Pompeu Fabra, Spain

Marcello Federico, FBK Trento, Italy, and Amazon, US

Jan Hajič, Charles University, Czech Republic

Joakim Nivre, University of Uppsala, Sweden



Wolfram Burgard, Freiburg University, Germany

Raja Chatila, SMART and ISIR, Pierre and Marie Curie University, France

Danica Kragic, Centre for Autonomous Systems, KTH, Sweden (also a supporter of ELLIS)

Daniele Nardi, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy


Computer Vison (CV):

Horst Bischof, TU Graz, Austria

Rita Cucchiara, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy

Luc van Gool, ETH Zurich and KU Leuven, Switzerland

Jiri Matas, Czech Technical University, Czech Republic

Bernt Schiele, MPI for Informatics, Germany (associated member, also a supporter of ELLIS)


Ethical, Legal, Social Issues (ELS):

Virginia Dignum, Umeå University, Sweden

Luciano Floridi, Digital Ethics Lab of the Oxford Internet Institute, Data Ethics Group, University of Oxford and The Alan Turing Institute, United Kingdom

Emiliano Lorini, IRIT-CNRS, Toulouse University, France

Pablo Noriega, Artificial Intelligence Research Institute (IIIA-CSIC), Spain

Barry O’Sullivan, University College Cork, Ireland

Francesca Rossi, IBM and University of Padova, Italy

Leon van de Torre, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Peggy Valcke, KU Leuven, Belgium

Bart Verheij, University of Groningen, The Netherlands

Marija Slavkovik, University of Bergen, Norway



Thomas Bäck, Leiden University, The Netherlands

Senta Cermakova, Deloitte Czech Republic, Czech Republic

Andreas Dengel, German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), Germany

Emanuela Girardi,Pop AI & High-Level Expert Group on AI of the Italian Government, Italy

Jayshree Kottapalli, GlaxoSmithKline (GSK), United Kingdom

Karsten Kraume, Bertelsmann SE & Co. KGaA – Arvato CRM Solutions, Germany

Bruno Le Dantec, National Institute for Research in Computer Science and Automation (INRIA), France

Paolo Traverso, Bruno Kessler Center in Information and Communication Technology (FBK ICT), Italy

Henk-Jan Vink, Netherlands Organisation for Applied Scientific Research (TNO), The Netherlands

The Categories: Uncategorized

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.